top of page
  • Writer's picturetorirg2020

My "Why"

I believe I am a product of the phrase “You are who you surround yourself with”.


My parents owned a daycare/preschool from the age I was two until mid-way through my sophomore year of college. When I was a child and a student, I attended the school. When I turned sixteen, I worked there after high school.


I was constantly surrounding by teachers and young learners. I fostered a love for the school environment which I think led me to chose education as my major in college.


So, when I initially chose my major, that was my “why”.


Now that I have matured and taken Education classes, my perception of education has changed so much. I tend to focus less on the fluffy things about teaching like what I want to wear and how I will decorate my room and transcended to be about what it means to teach someone a new skill.


As I previously mentioned in my “Introducing Me” page, I was an uninspired high school student who had no passion for reading and writing. I didn’t take the time to let myself appreciate the act of learning and literacy!


I now know I want to be a teacher that uses both scaffolding and inquiry-based learning to create a dynamic learning environment that students will love.


My “Why” today is to find those students like me and teach them to enjoy reading and writing.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why School Shouldn’t Be Stressful

In a regular week, students are expected to be in school roughly 35 hours (7 hours per day, 5 days a week). This accounts for almost a quarter of every week of a student’s life, which adds up to over

bottom of page